Reflection on the Short Story Unit

We left the Short Story Unit behind, with lots of experience and adventures that are staying with us. I enjoyed this unit, because it thought me lots of things, and made me discover things about myself and all the stories.

I really enjoyed “The Tell-Tale Heart” by Edgar Allan Poe. It was the first story we read for this unit, and I must say, it was a good start for me.  I am an admirer of Poe’s works, so this story was really special for me. It had the gothic wave, the madness, the tension, the imagination and everything I loved in it.

Another thing I enjoyed was the writing process. Creating a story of our own, and then writing it down was a fun process, and sharing our works with our friends was really enjoyable. Writing was tiring at times, (well, most of the time) but it was worth the effort.

This unit taught me many things about  the power of writing. Now I know that pen is mightier than the sword, and words are the strongest weapon in the hands of a determined dreamer. I learnt to be creative and push the limits of my mind, because that’s the only way I get better. No one will enjoy watching a wall unless you paint it, or add something to it that will make it look enjoyable. Don’t tell the story, show the story. Sit down and write, set your mind free. Writing is a great way to make change and discover your inner self. These are only a few lessons I can name, and they are all valuable.

The stories we read also proved to me that words are actually more powerful than we think. They all had shocking twists that left the reader unarmed and shocked. They all had a point, they all had an impact on something, they all had the capacity to make a change. Thanks to the stories we read, I discovered the elements I like to see in stories. I want to see tension, shocking twists and a little bit of craziness.

I can tell you, I spent most of my life writing and discovering about my inner writer. This unit helped me learn more about myself and it took me one step further in my inner journey. First of all, I discovered that I like being creative (once again), and I like adding a little piece of magic in my writing. I also discovered that I travel within words; I add my story a piece of myself, inside the characters, and the setting, and the quotes. The ones who know me well can always feel like I am right there, in the abstract scent of my stories.

All in all, this was a fun and creative unit. I wouldn’t change a thing about it.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *